Sperber named No. 7 Sports Power Broker

MVP Magazine recognizes top “movers and shakers” in the Valley’s sports market

Bryan Sperber

PIR President Bryan R. Sperber

Phoenix International Raceway President Bryan R. Sperber has been named as the No. 7 power broker by MVP Magazine in the second annual list of Top 30 Power Brokers in the Valley’s sports market. Sperber ranks just ahead of Rick Welts, president and CEO of the Phoenix Suns; Ken Kendrick, managing partner of the Arizona Diamondbacks; and Jerry Colangelo, chairman of the Phoenix Suns and chairman of USA Basketball.

The annual listing produced by MVP Magazine recognizes the Valley of the Sun’s most prominent sports business figures and influential professionals who are playing a key role in shaping the future of sports throughout the Phoenix community. Other honorees include Michael Bidwill, president of the Arizona Cardinals; John Junker, president and CEO of the Fiesta Bowl; and Derrick Hall, president and CEO of the Arizona Diamondbacks.

Sperber has been recognized for a number of accomplishments since his 2002 arrival in the Valley of the Sun, the most notable of which was his command of the track’s bid to secure a second NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race. That vision came to fruition in 2005 and last week Sperber announced that Phoenix will maintain two NASCAR Sprint Cup weekends moving forward in the face of widespread schedule realignment across the sport – making PIR the only NASCAR facility in the West with two race weekends. Based on past studies by Arizona State University’s W.P. Carey School of Business, PIR estimates the local economic impact of two Sprint Cup weekends to exceed $400 million.

Extremely active in the community – both in business and philanthropic sectors – Sperber is an active member of Greater Phoenix Leadership, an organization dedicated to improve the greater Phoenix area and the State of Arizona by bringing together talent, resources, and leadership to create action on priority issues. He is also a member of Phoenix’s Young President’s Organization, and serves on the Arizona State University Foundation’s Board of Trustees. In his philanthropic efforts, Sperber is also the vice president of the K Foundation, Cy Young Award-winning pitcher Brandon Webb’s charity.

The online magazine can be found at www.mvptoday.com.

The complete 2010 Top 30 Power Brokers listing is as follows:

  1. Michael Bidwell, president, Arizona Cardinals
  2. John Junker, president/CEO, Fiesta Bowl/Insight Bowl
  3. Derrick Hall, president/CEO, Arizona Diamondbacks
  4. Jan Brewer, governor, State of Arizona
  5. Robert Sarver, owner, Phoenix Suns/Phoenix Mercury
  6. Ken Whisenhunt, head coach, Arizona Cardinals
  7. Bryan Sperber, president, Phoenix International Raceway
  8. Rick Welts, president/CEO, Phoenix Suns
  9. Ken Kendrick, managing partner, Arizona Diamondbacks
  10. Jerry Colangelo, chairman, Phoenix Suns; chairman, USA Basketball
  11. Ed Beasley, city manager, City of Glendale
  12. Lisa Love, vice president for university athletics, Arizona State University
  13. Robert Brinton, president, Cactus League Association; executive director, Mesa CVB
  14. Steve Nash, point guard, Phoenix Suns
  15. Ron Minegar, executive vice president/chief operating officer, Arizona Cardinals
  16. John Solheim, chairman/CEO, Karsten Manufacturing Corp.
  17. Mike McQuaid, tournament chairman, 2011 Phoenix Open
  18. Rod Graves, general manager, Arizona Cardinals
  19. Mark Faller, sports editor, The Arizona Republic
  20. Dawn Rogers, senior associate athletic director, Arizona State University
  21. Duane Woods, chairman of the board, Fiesta Bowl
  22. Scott Smith, mayor, City of Mesa
  23. Dennis Erickson, head football coach, Arizona State University
  24. Mike Connelly, senior vice president/general manager, Fox Sports Arizona
  25. Anthony LeBlanc, CEO, Ice Edge Holdings, LLC
  26. Dan Bickley, lead columnist, The Arizona Republic; talk show host, XTRA Sports 910
  27. John Gambadoro and Mark Asher, talk show hosts, Sports 620 KTAR
  28. Steve Moore, president/CEO, Phoenix CVB
  29. Harold Slemmer, executive director, Arizona Interscholastic Association
  30. Don Maloney, general manager, Phoenix Coyotes

Related PIR News

  • 1/13/15


    In an effort to enrich communication with fans, Phoenix International Raceway launched a new design for its website, PhoenixRaceway.com, to kick off the 2015 season. Featuring a data-driven, more engaging user experience, the new site includes a crisp, vibrant design as well as streamlined navigation and enhanced fan content.

  • 11/12/14


    Kevin Harvick drove his No. 4 Budweiser Chevrolet car to Gatorade Victory Lane in Sunday’s Quicken Loans Race for Heroes 500, but the race itself was a winner for Phoenix International Raceway. The track sold out of grandstand seats a week before the race and sold out of reserved camping spots more than two months early.

  • 11/09/14


    Kevin Harvick dominated Sunday’s Quicken Loans Race for Heroes 500, leading 264 of the 312 laps in his No. 4 Budweiser Chevrolet on the way to Gatorade Victory Lane to conclude Phoenix International Raceway’s 50th anniversary season. The win clinched a place for Harvick in the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Championship Round next Sunday in Miami.

  • 11/08/14


    Brad Keselowski, a second-place runner nearly all afternoon at Phoenix International Raceway, flew by Kyle Busch on the beginning of the last lap of an unexpected green-white-checkers finish to steal victory in the DAV 200 Honoring America's Veterans, NASCAR Nationwide Series race on Saturday.

  • 11/08/14


    Erik Jones dominated from the pole in the Lucas Oil 150 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race at Phoenix International Raceway on Friday night. Leading 114 of 126 laps, Jones made his way through the night under a full moon and won for a second straight time at “ZOOMTOWN USA.”


© 2015 Phoenix International Raceway


ISC Track Sites